A Call To Mercy from Mother Teresa

acalltomercy

This lovely book published just in time for the Year of Mercy and Mother Teresa’s canonization contains many previously unpublished stories and quotes by and about the world famous saint. When I read it this weekend, I honestly didn’t know much about her aside from the basic outline of her life and a very short book of quotes from her I read in college. I feel I know her much better now and have some practical tools for how to imitate her in my everyday life.

That might sound strange coming from a stay-at-home mom in New York, but bear with me. This book refers to Mother Teresa as nothing other than “Mother.” Seeing how she interacted with everyone, from the sisters in her order to the poorest person on the streets, there is actually a lot that a biological mother can relate to in this book.

Her example of patience and love can teach a biological mom just as much as it can a spiritual mom. Her struggles are much like our own. For example, several of the stories in the book feature Mother Teresa being up late at night to care for one of the sisters or for one of the poor or sick in their homes. Every biological mother can relate to that!

For everyone, the author, one of her spiritual children Fr. Brian Kolodiejchuk, MC, breaks down the 7 corporal and the 7 spiritual works of mercy and shares insights from Mother Teresa and about Mother Teresa on how best to live out the calling of Christ.

This would be a great book to take a couple weeks and really meditate on each chapter. Since I did not have that luxury this time around, I can also say that reading it more quickly is also not without merit. I hope to return to this book sometime later, but this time was not a waste.

I got the opportunity to read this book through my membership in Blogging for Books in exchange for an honest review. I would honestly recommend this book to anyone. And perhaps buy a copy for your mom or mom-friends as well.

Leave a Reply

