Poor Baby: The Most Beautiful Writing I’ve Read in Years

poorbaby

This reflection by a woman who had 3 abortions is, quite simply, the most beautiful writing I’ve read in a very long time. I started this book one night and I couldn’t stop until I had finished. Not because it was a page-turner. Not because it had any kind of suspense. But her writing, her language, was like a classic painting, I couldn’t turn away.

There is a bit of a disconnect between the first part of the brief e-book and the second. In the first she writes poetically on her past, a past that many women of the 60’s and 70’s could likely relate to. The second is not as poetic but it is a powerful testimony¬†of mercy and forgiveness. It is her own testimony of her experiences with Project Rachel, a ministry of the Catholic Church to help women recovering from abortions.

I highly recommend this book to basically everyone. People working in the pro-life movement. People working in the pro-choice movement. People who have experienced abortion. People in ministry, especially Project Rachel. People who just like good writing.

It may seem like a bit of a rip-off, 3 bucks for a 54 page essay, but it is worth every penny. I definitely have a new addition to my list of favorite authors.

I think this may be only available as an e-book on the Kindle, but it’s available as a paperback as well. Learn more about purchasing it here.

 

Leave a Reply

