Review of City of Saints, a tour of JPII’s Kraków

cityofgod

Ever want to walk in the footsteps of St. John Paul II in his native streets in Poland? Now you can without ever leaving your house.

City of Saints: A Pilgrimage to John Paul II’s Kraków is a gorgeous book full of photography highlighting the places where JPII lived and worked in Kraków. Before picking up this book, I honestly only knew the bare outlines of JPII’s biography. Now, I feel as if a lot of the outline spanning from his mother’s death to his election as Pope has been filled in with a living human being who was clearly in his lifetime a saint.

Through this book, I can imagine his hardships through WWII and communism. I can hear his voice first as a young man reciting plays and poems to keep Polish hope alive during Nazi occupation and later speaking out against communist views of the human person from his pulpit as Bishop of Kraków.

I really, really enjoyed this book. I’m a little surprised because I often find George Weigel’s writings a little dense. His writing in this book, however, was very approachable. He breathed life into these places and people as well as giving some theological food to chew on.

This book was hard to put down. Although I’m a slow reader, I completed it in a little over a week, because it never left my side.

I got the opportunity to read this book as part of my membership in Blogging for Books in exchange for an honest review. I highly recommend any bookworm with a blog to join.

One thought on “Review of City of Saints, a tour of JPII’s Kraków

  1. Pingback: 10 Ways to Celebrate John Paul II's Feast Day : IGNITUM TODAY

Leave a Reply

