Thrill of the Chaste: A Book Review

image

This was one of the best books I have read so far this year. Dawn Eden bears her soul to the world once again to spread the good news: namely that chastity is not only realistic, but desirable. This is the second edition of a book that she wrote when she was just becoming Catholic. So this edition contains a lot more Church teaching and reflects the wisdom gained from yet more maturity.

Some might look down upon this book because it was written by a woman who has chosen to live a celibate life. Eden speaks however as a young woman who has lived the fruit of divorce, the fruit of the “sexual revolution,” the roots of the modern sexual mores. I am a married 30-year-old and I can see her story in my story and the lives of my peers.

She speaks as a woman who has been broken and has sinned. She, like so many other people of my generation, have looked for love in all the wrong places and bought hook-line-and-sinker the myth of strings-free sex. She tells us all about finding fulfillment and joy in something bigger, something better.

She talks of all of these things in a highly practical manner. She is a woman who has lived in the trenches. I pray that this book helps young women everywhere to see the possibility of living in the very counter-cultural way of chastity.

Thank you Ave Maria Press for the opportunity to review this book. I was able to do this through my membership in Netgalley. I cannot recommend Netgalley enough to my bookworm fellow bloggers. The Thrill of the Chaste: Catholic Edition is available now at your favorite bookseller.

Leave a Reply

