Before Amen, A Review

beforeamentitle

As I put the book down last night after a marathon reading session. I asked myself, “Why didn’t he just use the Lord’s Prayer for this book? It would have had the same points. Heck, he wouldn’t even have to change most of the format.” He acknowledges the similarities between his “pocket prayer” and the Lord’s Prayer. He acknowledges that the Lord’s Prayer is the prayer Jesus taught us. I don’t get it. I mean, look at it. It’s a freaking paraphrase of the Lord’s Prayer.

pocketprayer

But if we set that confusion aside, accept the prayer as is, this book is the legendary Max Lucado in prime form. I come away from this book with plenty to think about and plenty to share with online studies such as this one. He writes again in his always accessible, conversational style. He helps us to feel more confident in our prayer lives and encourages us to talk to God like the “daddy” He is.

I recommend this book for studies and for individual study. If I have “free-time” someday (what is this “free-time” people speak of?), I will pick it back up again and read it properly, reflecting on the questions in the back of the book.

Before Amen is available now at your favorite bookstore. I have been given the opportunity to read this book in exchange for an honest review. I thank Thomas Nelson for this opportunity.

I was able to do this through my membership with NetGalley. If you’d like the opportunity to read good books and review them for your audience, membership to NetGalley is completely free and easy to sign up! I highly recommend it!

 

Leave a Reply

