Why I Filmed My Abortion? A Response: Part 3

This is part 3 of a 4 part series discussing a young woman who recorded her abortion and shared it with the world. To see the video and the first part of the response, go here. To see the second part of the response, go here. To see the third part of the response, you’re in the right place.

mybodymychoice

“I knew that what I was going to do is right. It was right for me and no one else.”

This is the part that has pissed off the most people. Matt Walsh has a whole graphic post devoted to this quote. A commenter on the first part of my response questioned what has the world come to. Women who have had miscarriages express anger that this woman could kill something that she recognized as a life, while their own wombs failed them.

I have two ways to approach this. Personal and rational. Personal in that I have faced an unplanned pregnancy. I have had my youth robbed from me. I have had my career plans smashed. I was pushed into parenthood before I was ready. But that is all what they call pathos and I can do one better than that. I can help to dismantle the sacred bodily autonomy argument.

This argument is implicit in the quote above. The argument goes thus, “It’s my body, I can do whatever I want with it.”

There is one huge problem with this. When you are pregnant, it is no longer just your body. There is another human being inside of you and that person has a right to life as well. From the moment of conception, a separate being is formed. Yes, this being is completely dependent upon you, but that doesn’t make it any less of a human. An infant, an elderly person, or a terminally ill person isn’t any less of a person because they are completely dependent upon others for their care. What makes a unborn child any different?

Another problem I see with this is the assumption that you can do whatever you want with your body. Our bodies are not absolutely autonomous. Society and other people demand things of us all of the time. There are children who demand their parent’s time and attention. There are employers that require employees to work. There is the government that expects us to follow certain laws.

The aforementioned Matt Walsh explains it so much better than I can, so I’m just going to direct you to his blog post.

There is one more thing that is implicit in this quote and I can give her a little bit of credit for this one. I believe in this quote she is trying to make it clear that abortion was right for her, but it might not be right for someone else. This is a refreshing bit of consistency on her part and I hope that it translates into her work as an abortion councilor. She claims to be pro-choice and she does not want to influence any one else’s choice.

But it’s not like the pregnant woman is choosing between eggs or toast for breakfast. It’s not a morally neutral decision and therefore there is a right and a wrong answer that is universal. The Truth is not culturally-determined. The Truth doesn’t care one bit about your feelings. The Truth doesn’t care about convenience or comfort. It’s not even dependent on religion. The Truth is simply the Truth and it does not matter what anyone says or does to the contrary. This Truth is that every single person, every single life is to be respected, simply because it is a human life. Murder in all of its forms is abhorrent and it is particularly abhorrent when the life taken is completely and utterly innocent.

So, no, what she did wasn’t right. And she should have considered other people. Her actions involved many other people, aside from herself. Not only her child, but the women who will be encouraged to make the same decision. Not only her body, but women who will now open up about their stories and experience the healing that only comes with sharing your story. Not to mention, the unborn children of the women who will follow in her footsteps.

praytoendabortionJoin me for part 4 of this response where I discuss her comment, “I just want to share my story.” I promise the next one will be published more promptly.

This post was the product of a lot of thought and a lot of false starts. I just wasn’t sure how to proceed. Please let me know your thoughts.

One thought on “Why I Filmed My Abortion? A Response: Part 3

  1. Pingback: Why I Filmed My Abortion? A Response: Part 4 | The True Dignity of Women

Leave a Reply

