Why I Filmed My Abortion? A Response: Part 1

EMILY’S ABORTION VIDEO from Emily Letts on Vimeo.

Above is the video in question. It is not graphic, but it is heart-wrenching, so keep that in mind if you decide to watch it.

I am struck particularly by her last comment filmed a month and a half after the abortion. She says:

“I don’t feel like a bad person. I don’t feel sad. I feel in awe of the fact that I can make a baby. I can make a life. I knew that what I was going to do is right. It was right for me and no one else. I just want to share my story.”

I have so much to say about this, let me break this down into four digestible chunks. The first is below:

“I don’t feel like a bad person. I don’t feel sad.” 

FIRST OF ALL, shame and guilt has never truly converted anyone. I want each and every pro-lifer in the world to know this.

It’s like the difference between imperfect and perfect contrition. When you go to a priest to confess your sins because you’re afraid of hell, that is imperfect contrition. It’s legit, the sacrament still works, but it’s not ideal. The ideal situation would be to go to the priest to confess your sins because you love God so much you don’t want anything standing in-between you and your relationship with Him.

The ideal situation is for a pro-choice person to see the God-given, inalienable dignity in each and every person and that converts them to pro-life. Not: OMG, everyone is going to be judging me, I better choose life. Maybe the fear will save a life, but it will not change a life or a culture.

By the way, the woman has God-given, inalienable dignity as well. Including Emily Letts.

Second of all, everyone grieves differently. As you see later on in the quote, she is in awe of the fact she can create life. That is a seed right there. She may feel comfortable with her decision right now, but, who knows where she will be years from now.

I personally grieve on a delayed schedule. When something bad happens to me, I can be in denial for a very long time. It took me 4 years to start to grieve my grandmother when I was a kid. It took me a year to really start to grieve my c-section. I have a lot of sympathy for people who grieve in weird ways. Now, she may never grieve. I don’t know her personally and not every post-abortive woman grieves. But you never know if she’s just a grief weirdo like me.

Tomorrow I will continue with Part 2 where I will discuss her comments about the awe she feels at her body’s abilities.

Women’s bodies are awesome!!!!!!

6 thoughts on “Why I Filmed My Abortion? A Response: Part 1

  1. What a great analysis, I really like what you wrote and agree with you. I can’t wait to read your second response.

    This woman’s video, and her final statement, makes me so sad. When she says ” It was right for me and no one else” she sure is right – that “no one else” includes her unborn child, of course.

    Another thing I take away from her final statement is that she definitely knew it was a real human life she was ending. There is no talk of “piece of my body” or “fetal tissue” or any of the technical terms that abortion advocates like to hide behind. She is in fact admitting that she killed her own, live baby. She is even awed that she could have created this miracle, yet she does not seem to see a contradiction there – she still feels completely entitled to kill this new person.

    How did we come to this point? How could it be that mothers can believe that the being in their womb is their real, human, live child, and yet feel perfectly convinced that they have a right to kill this child whenever they so please?

    • Thank you for your comment!

      I can’t claim to have any answers for your questions, but I will be looking into those kinds of questions in part 3 of my response. To me, it really seems like sheer selfishness. We’ve come to a point where my goals, my body, my feelings are more important than anyone and anything else. Our definition of “freedom” has become complete and utter autonomy.

      We don’t seem to realize that we are all interdependent. No one on this planet is truly independent. This is most evident in the beginning and at the end of life. In the beginning and at the end, we are all completely dependent on other people for our most basic needs.

      And just as we are dependent on other people, we can’t just kill people who are dependent on us.

      Maybe in the case of Ms. Letts, she’ll one day realize how completely nonsensical it is to recognize it as a baby, as a life, but still think it’s okay to kill it.

  2. Pingback: Why I Filmed My Abortion? A Response: Part 2 | The True Dignity of Women

  3. Pingback: Don’t be an Orphan Priest | The True Dignity of Women

  4. Pingback: Why I Filmed My Abortion? A Response: Part 3 | The True Dignity of Women

  5. Pingback: Why I Filmed My Abortion? A Response: Part 4 | The True Dignity of Women

Leave a Reply

